News & Events

McGee Recognized by CTSI

Dr. Corey McGee, Assistant Professor in Occupational Therapy and Rehabilitation Science, was awarded the Clinical and Translational Science Institute's (CTSI) Community Engagement to Advance Research and Community Health (CEARCH) Recognition Award. The award is for excellence in presenting your findings at the CTSI poster session, September 20, 2017. View here for additional information. Congrats, Corey!

Matt Plow, PhD and RSC Alum, Recipient of PCORI Award; Mathiowetz to Serve as Site Coordinator

Rehab Science alum, Dr. Matt Plow of Case Western Reserve University, and current U of MN RSC faculty member, Dr. Virgil Mathiowetz, are members of a research team awarded funding from the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI).  The awarded study is "Comparing the Effectiveness of Fatigue Management Programs for People with MS."  Dr. Plow is Principal Investigator on the award with Dr. Mathiowetz serving as Co-Investigator and site coordinator.  The purpose of the study is to compare the effect of three modes of delivering the Managing Fatigue course—two telerehabilitation formats (teleconference or internet) and one traditional format (one-on-one, in person) used in clinical practice—on outcomes important to people with MS (ie fatigue and its impact on physical, mental, and social function).  The study will conduct a multicentered randomized clinical trial using a pragmatic design among 610 participants with MS.  The University of Minnesota Rehabilitation Science Program will serve as a host center, with Dr. Mathiowetz coordinating at the U of MN.  “This project was selected for PCORI funding for its potential to fill an important gap in our understanding of MS treatment. It will provide useful information to help patient and their caregivers weigh the effectiveness of their care options,” said PCORI Executive Director Joe Selby, MD, MPH.  PCORI is an independent, nonprofit organization authorized by Congress in 2010.  Its mission is to fund research that will provide patients, their caregivers, and clinicians with the evidence-based information needed to make better-informed healthcare decisions.  For more information about PCORI’s funding, visit

McGee and Johnson to Participate at State Fair Event

Corey McGee, PhD, OTR/L (OT and RSC faculty member), Leah Johnson, MA, OTR/L (Rehabilitation Science PhD Student), and their collaborators in the Fairview Orthopaedics Hand Therapy Center will be studying the movement of the thumb in healthy handed adolescents aged 13-21 at this year's Minnesota State Fair. Their research team will be present at the U of MN's Driven to Discover Building on Friday, 9/1, and Saturday 9/2, from 9am-3pm. Read more about this 5-10 minute study, "Sun's Out, Thumb's Out" and share with family and friends. Compensation for participants' time will be provided. They look forward to seeing you there!

Congratulations to Rebekah Summers

Rehab Science is proud to announce Rebekah Summers has been awarded the Graduate School's Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship (DDF) for 2017-2018. The DDF gives PhD candidates opportunity to devote full-time effort to finalizing and writing the dissertation during the fellow year. Outstanding doctoral candidates from across the University were nominated. 100 fellowships were awarded (37% award rate). Rebekah is on track to complete the combined Physical Therapy/Rehab Science DPT/PhD degree. She will be the first student to do so. Rebekah is advised by Dr. Teresa Kimberley. We congratulate both on this well deserved award.

Kage Participates in Research Recognition Day

Craig Kage, current RSC student, recently took part in the 10th Annual Biomedical Sciences Graduate Programs Research Recognition Day. This event is sponsored by the College of Biological Sciences, Medical School and the international "Three Minute Thesis" project. Mr. Kage presented the poster "Validation of Biplane Fluoroscopy for Cervical Spine Kinematics." Collaborators on this poster included fellow classmates Mary Foltz and Becky Lawrence, faculty advisor Dr. Arin Ellingson, Postdoc Fellow Mohsen Akbari-Shandiz and BME undergraduate Hana Boudlali. We congratulate all involved. And we thank Craig for his work and in representing Rehab Science!

Excerpts from the Clinical Neurosciences Center's BRAIN MATTERS Newsletter

Bernadette Gillick, PhD, MS, PT, joins President Kaler at a press conference to share the impact of MnDRIVE supported research. YouTube Video

Ann Van de Winckel, PhD, PT's Clinical Assessment Lab, part of the Brain Plasticity Lab at the University of Minnesota. YouTube Video

Corey McGee, PhD, MS, OTR/L -- Get to know a hand therapy researcher. ASHT Blog

Anderson Among Authors on Newly Published Caregivers Brief

RSC PhD Candidate Lynda Anderson, along with her colleagues from the University's Institute on Community Integration and The Arc, published a recent research brief on the role family caregivers play in providing support to individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD). For further information, please visit: Ms. Anderson is advised by Dr. Peggy Martin. Congrats to Lynda on this publication.

McGee a Member of International Collaborative Project

Corey McGee, PhD, OTR/L, CHT was invited by Brown and Stanford University's Medical Schools to partake in a Delphi consensus group charged to develop a minimum set of core domains for outcome measurements which will be of importance to patients, clinicians, and researchers in the study and treatment of thumb osteoarthritis. He was 1 of 46 invited international stakeholders (i.e., therapists, surgeons, physicians, basic scientists) and has now completed the first round of this project. Dr. McGee is on faculty in both Rehabilitation Science and Occupational Therapy. We look forward to further updates on this project. Good work, Corey!

​Congratulations to Dr. Gillick

Dr. Bernadette Gillick has been named a Representative on the Global Professional Education Committee for the International Alliance of Academies of Childhood Disability. This Alliance represents the American/Canadian, Australasian and European Academies of Cerebral Palsy, Developmental Medicine and Childhood Disability. Her role will involve promoting a global standard of multi-disciplinary education and dissemination surrounding interventions for children with disabilities and their families.

Rehab Science Faculty Awarded IEM Seed Grant

Paula Ludewig, PhD, PT and a team of investigators from multiple UMN departments including Rehabilitation Medicine, Biomedical Engineering, Veterinary and Population Medicine, Orthopaedic Surgery, Psychology, Radiology, and Computer Science and Engineering have been awarded a seed grant from the Institute for Engineering in Medicine to develop a translational musculoskeletal research group. Investigators involved in the project include Paula Ludewig, Arin Ellingson, Daniel Keefe, Victor Barocas, Joan Bechtold, Rahul Narain, Cathy Carlson, Jutta Ellerman, David Polly, Jon Braman, Brad Nelson, Elizabeth Arendt, Ward Glasoe, Terese Chmielewski, Andrew Hans​e​n, and Nathaniel Helwig.​ Drs. Ludewig, Ellingson, Glasoe, Chmielewski and Hansen are all faculty members in Rehabilitation Science.​ Good news one-and-all!